Fiona Smillie Memorial Award

Fiona A.M. Smillie was a greatly respected and much-loved member of the administrative staff of the Faculty of Medicine and within the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology. Fiona's kind spirit, enthusiasm and empathy made her a cherished colleague and friend of many within the department.

In keeping with Fiona's exemplary dedication and service to the department, the Fiona Smillie Memorial Award recognizes graduate students who have significantly contributed to the Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology at the University of Toronto by advancing the interests of graduate students and/or improving the experience of graduate studies for graduate students in the department.

Eligible students will have graduated in the past academic year and will have contributed substantially to the quality of student experience in the department through department service. 

Nomination will consist of a letter sent to the Pharmacology Graduate Students Association ( Please include the candidate's name and a brief summary of their departmental service and/or contributions to graduate student experience.

The deadline for nominations is Friday, May 17, 2019. The award is adjudicated by the PGSA and will be presented at our annual Visions in Pharmacology Research Day. 

Past Recipients:

2020: Daniel Hanna
2019: Lucia Zhang
2018: Vincent Lam
2017: Ariana Dela Cruz
2016: Shirley Poon
2015: Nicole Brown
2014: Noufissa Kabli
2013: Mary Clare Luca
2012: Anne Mullen Gray
2011: Greg Staios
2010: Xavier Balducci
2009: Rana Sawaya
2008: Christopher So